YYC Bike Awards & Celebration

Bike Calgary’s mission is all about focusing on advocacy, education and our community to make Calgary a great place for all riders – present and future.

What better way to celebrate and build our riding community than hosting a party? How could visiting with one another, supporting Bike Calgary and enjoying excellent food and beverages be any better? The answer is the party’s main event – recognizing individual members of our community who encourage, champion and inspire us with their commitment to riding in the YYC! 

Community-driven Awards

Each year, we ask our community members to nominate the people, businesses and schools that encourage, champion and inspire as riders or supporters of the YYC riding community. The four categories are: 

  • The Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award – celebrates the person or organization that has been a tireless advocate for cycling and all modes of transportation in YYC. This award honours the memory of Lawrence Hong and the commitment and dedication he had to building a diverse transportation culture in our City.
  • Rider of the Year Award – celebrates the rider that has successfully merged riding as the transportation of choice in their life. Whether they bike their kids to school, bring groceries home in their saddlebags or cycle to work (maybe all year long), this rider inspires us with their dedication.
  • Business of the Year Award – celebrates the local company that makes it their business to embrace our YYC rider community with exceptional bike-friendly practices. Maybe they make it easy to ride to their location, support bike events such as Bike to Work Day or provide excellent riding facilities for their staff. Whatever they do, they make their support a priority.
  • School of the Year Award – celebrates a YYC school that understands how important active transportation is in supporting healthy, independent and vibrant staff and students. They might do this by promoting riding, providing safe parking and storage options and delivering bike education at their school.
Community-driven Support

This event celebrates and supports our tight knit community that’s dedicated to moving around in ways other than just our cars! We support each other by visiting and sharing our stories. We support our champions with recognition. And, we support Bike Calgary’s work through the event ticket sales and our silent auction. Funds raised cover Bike Calgary’s operational costs so that we can focus on our goal of making Calgary a great place for all riders.

We’d like to thank our local businesses whose support helped us have such a great Celebration in 2019 – Village Brewing, Oak & Vine, The Dandy Brewing Company, Sobeys Tuscany, Tailblazers Ranchlands, Good Earth Coffeehouse, Confined Escape Rooms, The Garage Sports Bar, and Independent Distillers Canada.

Tickets for the September 25th, 2020 YYC Bike Awards & Celebration will be available soon!

YYC Bike Award Recipients

Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award - Jeff Gruttz & Peter Oliver
Commuter of the Year - Lindsay Bliek
Business of the Year - Bike Bike Inc.
School of the Year - Twelve Mile Coulee School
Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award - Chris & Laura Grant
Commuter of the Year - Kevin Schlauch
Business of the Year - Brookfield Developments
School of the Year - Langevin Science School
Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award - Brent Clark
Commuter of the Year - David Jean Allard & Dale Calkins
Business of the Year - Dandy Brewery
Employer of the Year - Hotel Arts
School of the Year - Arbour Lake School
Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award - Kyle K Stewart (Simon Fraser Science Learning Leader)
Commuter of the Year - Kim Fisher & Kayley Fesko (Commit to Commute)
Business of the Year - Two Wheel View
Employer of the Year (50+ employees) - University of Calgary & MEC
Employer of the Year (<50 employees) - Sidewalk Citizen
School of the Year - Simon Fraser School & Sacred Heart School
Lawrence Hong Advocacy Award - Gerardo Marquez
Commuter of the Year - David Coldwell
Business of the Year - Momentum Calgary
Employer of the Year - City of Calgary
School of the Year - Westmount Charter School